Accounting Research Guide

Access to resources useful for accounting students and accountants.

Description: ACCT 3311 Research Guide

It is important for you to know how to find authoritative sources for financial statements, SEC filings, and accounting standards. This research guide contains access to and information about sources you will use in this course to ensure success as you progress through your accounting classes and into your career.  For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Online Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password (or your last name and 14-digit SMU ID barcode number). Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Finding Financials in Mergent Online

Learn how to use Mergent Online to find company financials with this tutorial https://smu.libwizard.com/f/find-financials-mergent-online.

Accounting Essentials in Checkpoint

Learn how to use Checkpoint to find standards and other accounting materials with this tutorial https://smu.libwizard.com/f/accounting-essentials-checkpoint.

Accounting Research Workshop

This one-hour, hands on workshop focuses on effective and efficient use of the resources you will need to successfully complete your assignment.

Need a different time? If you have a group of 5 or more, we can add a session for you. Send your request to Ask a Business Librarian.

Sample APA Citations

This example utilizes APA 6th edition.  Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of sources you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

Afterman, A.B. and Jones, R.H. (2015, January). Part II: Balance sheet [2: Cash]. In Accounting and Auditing Disclosure Manual. Retrieved from Checkpoint database

American Institute of CPA’s. (2012). AAG Airlines [Chapter 1‐The Airline Industry]. In Audit and Accounting Guides. Retrieved from Checkpoint database

FTSE Russell. (2017). Amazon.com Inc. [Company financials]. Retrieved June 27, 2019, from Mergent Online database

Southwest Airlines Co. (2018, August 1). Form 10‐Q. Retrieved from http://www.southwest.com