Accounting Research Guide

Access to resources useful for accounting students and accountants.

Description: ACCT 5317 Research Guide

Your assignment requires you to find authoritative research concerning an accounting topic. A basic Google search is not the best method to find the appropriate sources. This research guide will direct you toward better search methods to ensure success.  For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Online Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password (or your last name and 14-digit SMU ID barcode number). Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Using Library Search to Find Business Articles

Learn how to find articles in Library Search with this tutorial
https://smu.libwizard.com/library-search

Moving Beyond Google for Business Research

This one-hour, hands on workshop focuses on effective and efficient use of the resources you will need to successfully complete your research.

Need a different time? If you have a group of 5 or more, we can add a session for you. Send your request to Ask a Business Librarian.

Sample APA Citations

This example utilizes APA 6th edition.  Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of articles you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

FTSE Russell. (2017). Amazon.com Inc. [Company financials]. Retrieved June 27, 2019, from Mergent Online database

Herranz, N., Krasa, S., and Villamil, A. (2015, October). Entrepreneurs, risk aversion, and dynamic firms. Journal of Political Economy, 123 (5), 1133‐1176. Retrieved from JSTOR database 

Southwest Airlines Co. (2018, August 1). Form 10‐Q. Retrieved from http://www.southwest.com

Waters, R. (2017, July 10). Google seeks to make artificial intelligence more people‐friendly.  FT.com. Retrieved from ABI/Inform database

Yoon, E. (2017, August 8). Tesla shows how traditional business metrics are outdated. Harvard Business Review. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database