Global Programs

Guide for Global Programs course projects

Description: MNGT 6275 Research Guide

Your assignment requires you to find authoritative research concerning a non-profit association and/or NGO. A basic Google search may yield some appropriate sources; however, this research guide will direct you toward additional resources to ensure success.  For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Article Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Association and NGO Resources

Using Library Search to Find Business Articles

Learn how to find articles in Library Search with this tutorial
https://smu.libwizard.com/library-search

Sample APA Citations

This example utilizes APA 6th edition.  Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of articles you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

Askari, N. (2018, November 23). Animal charities clawback cash through legacies.  FT.com. Retrieved from ABI/Inform database

Coney, R. (2019, November 15). Who wants pay related to performance? Not the staff at the RSPCAThird Sector. Retrieved from Factiva database

Factiva. (2019). Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. [Company snapshot]. Retrieved November 22, 2019, from Factiva database

FTSE Russell. (2019). Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. [Company overview]. Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database 

Hurst, G. and Kinder, T. (2018, August 22). Charity watchdog rebukes RSPCA after six-figure payout to chief. The Times (London). Retrieved from Gale Academic OneFile database