If preparing for an interview, consider using the Company Research Worksheet to cover key aspects of the company and its primary industry.. Interview Planning Worksheet (Excel download) is located in top right box on this page.
This database provides excellent industry overviews as well as individual company information. To view a specific company, enter its name or ticker in the search box. To find a list of companies within an industry or by specific criteria, select the screening tab, then choose the 'quick screener' link. This opens a search screen to search for a list of companies by industry, company status or type, and geography (location). Can "browse all" industries or geographies to narrow search such as accounting and/or combine the search with a city. Click "view results" to complete the search.
If NetAdvantage asks for a log in, please clear your history, cache and cookies, or use a different browser to access the database.
For the US NAICS Industry reports, search by company, industry keyword, or NAICS code. To access the US Specialized Industry reports, search by company or industry keyword. Find trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, supply chain information, and industry growth rates. For the US NAICS reports published after 2016, the Key Statistics section includes RMA Annual Statement Studies industry ratios.
Build a job search using real-time access to Hoover's private and public U.S. and international companies. Click the job search tab to find postings by occupation, industry, employer, or jobs available to veterans. The Advanced Search tool offers screening tools to identify potential companies that meet your desired criteria by narrowing your job search by an industry, company size or financials, or a geographic location.
TIP for Interview Preparations: 1) to learn more about the company, its financials, competitors, or executives by entering the company name in the main search box on the home page. 2) the First Research industry reports include a tab, Call Prep Questions (including Conversations Starters with brief answers), which provides a list of potential key questions to ask about the industry in which a company operates. Search by SIC or NAICS industry codes.
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Search by company name or investor name using the basic search. Use the Advanced Search to screen for companies, investors, VC fundings, M&A deals, or PE deals by location, industry, fund criteria, ownership criteria, deal size, and more.
Frequent users will want to create an academic account using your SMU email address.
Search for companies headquartered in one country but operating in another. Search by parent company or by subsidiary. Ex search: Under 'Parent companies headquartered in' search for a country (Germany). Under 'Companies with subsidiaries in' search for a country (United States). To add a state, click on 'Add a country'. Then, click on 'Add a state/province' and search for the state (Texas). You must click on the 'Add a state/province' button again for the filter to apply. Add additional filters as needed. To see results, click on View, PDF, or Excel.
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics gives an overview of many industries from the view of a potential employee.
**Also available via Business Source Complete (database): search publications tab for "Career Guide to Industries" to review several years of industry reports.
Provides online access to articles from the Dallas Business Journal, including both the print and digital versions, the Dallas Book of Lists, and People on the Move. Also, use the portal to search business journals published for other cities. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
***NOTE: To access DBJ Portal off campus, sign in with the username and password found in the Box folder.***
Chrome is the recommended browser for this database. ***NOTE: To access DBJ Portal off campus, sign in with the the username and password found in the Box folder.*** Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Search by job category, location, or job title.
Select companies tab (on toolbar) to enter a new search then refine results, if desired. Opt to "follow the company", explore networking links, check statistics about a company's employees, new hires' education & job title, and other factors that define recent hiring trends or corporate culture. Tip: LinkedIn may be especially useful for researching private companies that share limited information.
Get the basics and deep insights into compensation - including salary, benefits, and bonus information for specific job titles. Data is collected from members' profiles. Premium LinkedIn members or those who share data about their own job salary can filter results by industry or experience levels.
Use the screening tools to search for companies that match your criteria, such as location, industry, company type or size. Or, search a company name for a job posting and a short profile of their company.
This downloadable Excel Spreadsheet includes four tabs:
1. Research Spreadsheet
2. Library Research Instructions (when assigned for BLI 3302)
3. Reference samples (to aid in citing sources)
4. Detailed Explanations (FAQs)
100 Best Companies to Work For appears annually as the cover story of Fortune magazine's March issues. It includes information about specific companies and a sample of their current jobs.
Access vis Business Source Complete database; select the Flipster Digital Magazine to see all pages.
Additionally,, take a look at "The List" for a two-page summary of all companies included in the annual cover story. Consider using Ctrl+F to search within a PDF article.
A quick look at highly ranked companies in the fields of accounting, banking, advertising, consulting, energy; legal, internet & Social media, and technology employers. Use this site to learn about companies within the industries you are considering.
Ranks 308 larger and smaller agencies within the U.S. federal government per a survey of 266,000 federal employees. Use the "Find an Agency" search box to locate a specific federal entity (such as the I.R.S.) to see employees' rankings of work skills, leadership, pay, demographics, plus previous years' survey results.
Provides listings of hundreds of the hottest area companies ranked within their fields. Includes names of key decision makers, their titles and contact information. this resource is useful to job-seekers, marketers, and fund-raisers to identify and build local business or industry connections. Published annually.
ONLINE ACCESS via Business Library's Dallas Business Journal Portal. *Chrome is the recommended browser for this database.
PRINT COPIES for Dallas, Austin, San Antonio, and Houston "Book of Lists" are in the Business Library.