Generate a profile by researching what is said about executive in various newspaper and journal articles. In the first search box on the main page of the database, enter the executive's name, last name first. Select 'People' from the 'Select a Field' drop down box appearing to the right of the search box and run the search.
Located under the Executive Details tab. Executives included are officers and directors. Information includes a brief bio and three years of compensation data. Use the People search box on the main page to search by first and last name. Within the Executive Details tab, you can also search by job title within the People sub-tab to find additional company employees.
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Mergent focuses on the financial information for public companies, both national and international. Executives included are officers and directors. Information includes three years of detailed compensation data and one year of insider holding transactions. Use the Executive Search tab to select search criteria. Note: In Mergent you can search by education to find executives who graduated from SMU or other institutions of interest.
Most data can be exported to Excel. Full company reports and tear sheets are printable in PDF format. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
In the menu bar, type PEOP and press <GO>. Search by company first and then within the company, search by executive name to find contact information.
Available from a limited number of dedicated computers in the Business Library. Use the Excel Add-In to obtain and organize Bloomberg data in spreadsheets. Information about the Bloomberg Certification program.
From Companies click on People. Then, enter the name of the person. Or search by a company. Then, choose People from the left menu. Included are professionals, board members, committees and compensation.
Use the S&P Capital IQ Excel add-in for additional data functionality. Available from a limited number of dedicated computers.
Please LOG OUT after using this database each time. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Select People from the main menu to search by name. Use the search icon on the left to search by company name or ticker. Select company snapshot from the results. Expand the Activism, Management & Governance menu on the left. Select Management & Board from the menu to executives and board members. Click on a person's name to see more info.
Apply for an account and a business librarian will review your request. Database works best with Chrome.
Use the FactSet Excel add-in for additional data functionality. Available from a limited number of dedicated computers in the Business Library that don't require an individual account. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
At the top of the main page search for a company by name or ticker to open the 'Quicktakes' page for the company. Click to 'Insider' on the left-side menu and then to key executives or board members, both of which include brief biographies.If you have not already been provided with the login/password, ask a librarian for assistance. Look for the orange Morningstar Direct icon on the desktop.
Allows for 38 simultaneous users. ***NOTE: To access Morningstar Direct off campus, sign in with the username and password found in the Box folder.***
Before logging into desktop Morningstar Direct, open Internet Explorer and leave it running. Use the desktop Morningstar Excel add-in for additional data functionality, which is available from a limited number of dedicated computers within the Business Library. Look for the orange Morningstar Direct icon on the desktop.
LinkedIn may be especially useful for researching background information for executives. Search by the individual's name (or by the company name). If they have an account, you can find previous work history, education and current job duties. (A free Linked In account is required.)
Search for background information on CEOs and other executives in major companies. Use the provided sources to search for additional information about the executive.
Executive e-mail addresses
Searching for executive contact information is difficult and will take a multi-search approach. Try the following strategies:
Search online using the executive's name to see if news articles, press releases, or other websites mention that person, especially if they serve as a board member on a foundation or other instituational setting. This will work better with large companies.
Search in multiple places: databases, such as Mergent Intellect, Bloomberg, S&P Capital IQ; outside websites, such as Jigsaw, MailTester, domain registration services.
For small companies, try a WhoIs search on the company name using a domain registration site, such as GoDaddy.com to see if an executive's contact information is provided.
If the executive owns a foundation, search on the foundation profile for contact information. GuideStar provides data about non-profit organizations. Basic searching is free with more advanced search capabilities provided by subscription.