Lifestyle reports that focus on consumer behavior and provide demographic information are available in this database which also provides business-to-consumer market research reports focused on consumer packaged goods.
Each time the database opens users must accept the usage policy. Please use your SMU email when setting up a profile on Mintel. (Users will be prompted to log in both on campus and off campus.) Duo Mobile authentication may be required. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Select Consumer Lifestyle link at bottom of search page. Use advanced search tab to select criteria to identify types of consumers by geography, age, gender, shopping habits, and more. TIP: pay attention to the AND (meets all criteria options selected) and OR (either of the selected criteria options) and use the "Add to Criteria" button before moving to another section. A basic search by a name or telephone number focuses a search for an individual person.
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. Tip: Click the Source tab to discover the origin of the data which can potentially lead to further information.
Essentials tab: Quick Reports: Use these ready-made reports to create a demographic profile, lifestyle segmentation report, and various media usage reports.
Essentials Tab: Crosstab: this enables users to define the criteria and data needed to generate a report on your focus topic.
Tip: click on the question mark in the top navigation bar, and then study resources, you will get the actual questionnaire to reveal what was asked and how it was answered & by whom. This can be VERY helpful in trying to figure out what questions really mean.
View this online guide that offers some quick start training as well as example research queries. This database allows for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping and data visualization application that allows the user to make maps and analyze geographic data. In addition to the Standard Package, our subscription includes SimmonsLOCAL and Claritas PRIZM data.
To create an account, click on "create an account" and enter your SMU e-mail address and a password. Also, only 5 users can use this resource concurrently. Please log out when done using this resource.
Ipsos offers a large amount of openly available data that crosses all categories and industries as they relate to society, markets and people. Use this site for trend tracking, or identifying consumer macro-trends.
Website provides access to the research and advisory firm's unique insights from annual surveys of more than 675,000 consumers and business leaders worldwide. Forrester research covers the customer experience, customer insights, digital transformation, emerging technology, information technology, marketing, privacy & security, and scenario planning.
To create a Forrester account, click the Login button, or visit go.forrester.com. On the home page, click the Login link in the top-right. Then, enter your SMU e-mail in the e-mail address field. Your address will be detected and added to the SMU license once you complete the sign-up process. Duo Mobile authentication may be required.
Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data included. See the section on 'Income, Expenditures, Poverty & Wealth' on the left side of the page for consumer information.