Energy Research Guide

Sources to conduct energy research

Today In Energy

U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Daily Prices

  • Wholesale Spot Petroleum Prices:Crude Oil, Gasoline, Heating Oil, and Coal
  • Retail Petroleum Prices

Monthly Energy Review

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Monthly Energy Review

  • Provides energy statistics on production, consumption, and pricing on multiple sectors of energy. 
  • Mouse over Analysis & Projections to select Annual for statistics back to 1949.

 

Dept. of Energy PAGES

The DOE Public Access Gateway to research data for energy and science

  • Search for journal articles and manuscripts. 
  • Select Modify This Search to enter title, author, journal, date, etc.

Texas Production Data

The Railroad Commission of Texas website provides monthly production data for the state, as well as online databases that can be queried.  Tabs across the top provide information for oil and gas, alternative fuels, gas services and mining and exploration.

 

Texas Production Data

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Maguire Energy Institute

Annual Energy Outlook

https://www.eia.gov/outlooks/aeo/""

 
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
(2019)

World Energy Outlook

https://www.iea.org/reports/world-energy-outlook-2019Weo

International Energy Agency (IEA) 2019