Energy Research Guide

Sources to conduct energy research

Web Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) is the first place to look for industry information on the key sectors of energy. It encompasses domestic and international energy information.

International Energy Agency (IEA) is an international source for energy.

Independent Petroleum Association of America (IPAA) site for data on the industry. Mouse over Economics at the top for conversion reference tools, historical charts of industry statistics and economic reports with profiles of industry producers and production reports by state.

CME Group  is an options and futures exchange that deals in commodities. Select Education at the top for an encyclopedia/description of various energy resources as well as a Glossary.  

ICE  is an exchange for energy markets and provides information with data and charts on various energy products.  Select the product to see reports by energy type. Many are downloadable in Excel.

DOE Data Explorer  Explore projects, collections and datasets from the U.S. Department of Energy.

OSTI.GOV  Data from the DOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.  Enter terms in the search box to get info from over 70 years of DOE-funded research.

Resources for the Future A nonprofit institution researching the key sectors of energy to promote efficient technologies and sustainable energy resources. Choose a topic at the bottom of the page.

 PSG Dover  Provides graphics and definitions for production and gathering sectors: Upstream, Midstream, Downstream.

World Energy News An online resource for news about the energy industry. Sign up for free news by email or download the app. Sections for offshore oil and gas, shale oil and gas, LNG, renewables, technology and legislation.

Business Databases

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Books

EIA Energy Explained

Energy Inc. Texas Edition

Energy Inc. Texas Edition

Provided by the Business Journals, a weekly newsletter about the energy industry.

It covers multiple energy sectors and industry reporting and analysis.

Click the link to sign up for your copy.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

Business Library Workshops: