Find resources to determine if your new business idea is viable, develop an initial plan for putting your plan in motion, find funding sources, and learn ways to exit from your plan at the appropriate time.
This database includes access to the Daily Deal, a good source of significant venture capital deals from around the world. To access, use 'Search the News' and type "dealflow" in search box; choose publication name of The Daily Deal - and search to view DealFlow Reports. Need to find articles on venture capital or other keywords? Use Search the News to enter keywords in the search box to obtain a list of articles.
Click the Screening tab, then from the left side menu try screening by transactions, or the subheadings under Idea Generation Screens and Targeting.
Use the S&P Capital IQ Excel add-in for additional data functionality. Available from a limited number of dedicated computers.
Please LOG OUT after using this database each time. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Includes PE & VC data. From the main menu, chose Idea Screening. Then, next to PE & VC, choose Start this screen. Search for funds, investors, executives, and investments to screen deals and support investment decisions. Save your screens and you can export data using the green arrow icon.
Apply for required individual account using this form and a business librarian will review your request. Database works best with Chrome.
Use the FactSet Excel add-in for additional data functionality. Available from a limited number of dedicated computers in the Business Library that don't require an individual account. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
CEO entrepreneurs can search site member reviews of venture capital funds and angel networks. Site members gain full access to detailed ratings profiles of over 3,600 funds and contact information for nearly 17,000 investment professionals. View the site help for details.
The ACA provides an information and best practices exchange for firms performing as angel capital investors. Some directory information is available that may provide contact between entrepreneurs and angels.
Statistics show that women CEOS only get 2.3% of all venture capital. To improve those odds, check out The Fundry database sponsored by Inc.com. Search by funding type (seed, early, or growth), industry, and regional location to identify potential investors, such as Dallas-based Texas Women Ventures or Bumble Fund located in Austin, Texas.
Golden Seeds focuses on women-led businesses in the early-stages of investment and is funded by over 275 angel investors. Those selected "are vetted, coached and advised by our network. expertise." Periodic "Open Office Hours" are held in New York, Boston, Silicon Valley, Houston, and Dallas offer " entrepreneurs who are not yet ready to apply for funding a chance to meet with experienced early stage investors."
Find current U.S.-based industry statistics, research studies, valuation guidelines, useful web links, venture capital organizations (regional & international), videos, and resources for entrepreneurs within the research and resources tabs. Selected data files and current reports are available as free downloads. (Selected sections may require membership.)
This professional membership organization compiles a directory of accredited investors and groups. Check over 13,000 listings for potential matches to your business plan and goals. Take a look at the Knowledge Center tab to get info for entrepreneurs.
Quarterly report covers funding by industry. region, companies, or stage of development. Download current (or historical trend) data by number of deals or total funds. Industry sectors include healthcare services, medical devices, software, biotechnology, plus consumer products and services. Free site registration to access the custom search feature.
Maintained by the Dallas Business Journal and covering the North Texas area, it allows you to find out who's receiving venture capital, private equity and angel investing as well as who's doing the giving. It's best to search by quarters (ex: 4Q 2012) to find the most results as well as acceptable industry terms. Data is only available from 2012 forward.
Print & Online Resources
21st Century Entrepreneurship by Aude d'Andria; Inés Gabarret
Publication Date: 2017-05-17
The Wiley Handbook of Entrepreneurship by Görkan Ahmetoglu (Editor); Tomas Chamorro-Premuzic (Editor); Bailey Klinger (Editor); Tessa Karcisky (Editor)Written by leading scholars, The Wiley Handbook of Entrepreneurship provides a distinctive overview of methodological, theoretical and paradigm changes in the area of entrepreneurship research. It is divided into four parts covering history and theory, individual differences and creativity, organizational aspects of innovation including intrapreneurship, and macroeconomic aspects such as social entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship in developing countries. The result is a must-have resource for seasoned researchers and newcomers alike, as well as practitioners and advanced students of business, entrepreneurship, and social and organizational psychology.