Finance Research Guide

Access to resources useful for financial research, including equities, IPOs, mergers & acquisitions, funds, commodities, bonds, and SEC filings.

What is screening?

Many databases allow you to find results that match your criteria. For example, stocks in a certain industry that have a chosen market cap.

These tools are often in a separate place from the main search screen when you open the database. Read the details under each database name in the next section to learn where to find the tool and how to use it to get the best results.

What is a Stock Screener? Investopedia provides an explanation. 

Online Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Ask a Business Librarian

Need Help?

Contact Us

Business Library - Guiding Student Success for life - SMU Libraries

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

Business Library Workshops: