Industries and Markets Research Guide

Industry and market overviews and statistics.

What are Industry Codes: NAICS, SIC, GICS?

An important first step of doing research faster is to identify & use the industry's code

So, what is an industry code? The federal government classifies manufacturing and service industries by assigning numbers (codes) based on their primary business activities. Industry codes are intended to improve communication within the  government, across industries, and between countries for comparison purposes.

Searching databases with an industry code yields faster & more precise results. You can find your industry's primary and secondary codes in the databases below plus reports about the industry. Instructions are included with each database - see below.

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Databases to Search via Industry Codes (How to Research an Industry)

After you get the NAICS and SIC codes from Mergent Intellect (see below), use that info to expedite your research for a given industry in business databases. When possible, try both a NAICS and SIC code search, as each code system often yields a different results list.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

Business Library Workshops: