International Business Research Guide

Focuses on international business information, both general categories and specific countries.

Description: BAEX 6237 Research Guide

During this course, you will be investigating entrepreneurial opportunities in other countries. This research guide page will direct you toward quality resources to ensure success. In addition to using sources discussed in the International Business Research Guide, you may also want to look at the Entrepreneurship Research Guide.

For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Global Opportunity Identification Resources

Hover over Reports in the top menu to see choices for Market Studies, Industry Reports, and Country Reports. Click on Global Survey from the top menu to find surveys covering over 50 industries and markets worldwide.

When viewing individual statistics or charts, click the Source tab to see the origin of the data, which potentially can lead to further information.  Select the Citation option to copy the APA or MLA formatted citation.

Industries tab at the top of the page contains many consumer-focused markets. After selecting, use Country Reports box to select Geograpy. Reports lead to statistics that can be exported to Excel and other related reports.

Consumers tab at the top of the page will lead to statistics and trends for target markets. After selecting a topic such as Households, use Country Reports box to select Geograpy. Reports lead to statistics that can be exported to Excel and other related reports such as Future Demographics.

Economies tab at the top of the page will provide general information on the country and detailed reports on major cities. Further city statistics can be found by following these instructions:

1. Select the blue search tab, then choose cities in the Full Tree dropdown menu. Expand the Cities Categories & Topics and place a check mark at least two criteria desired, such as Economy > GDP or its sub-menu items. Select the Next button.
2. Click the "Geographies" tab, select the continent >country >city name to include it.
3. Press the Search button to view data sets with adjustable dates and column filters. Click the download tab - must enter name & SMU email - to obtain your city data file to open Excel.

Business Culture Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Research Workshops

These one-hour, hands on workshops focus on effective and efficient use of the resources you will need to successfully complete your assignment.

Need a different time? If you have a group of 5 or more, we can add a session for you. Send your request to Ask a Business Librarian.

Using Library Search to Find Business Articles

Learn how to find articles in Library Search with this tutorial
https://smu.libwizard.com/library-search

BAEX 6237 Library Resources Presentation

Sample APA Citations

This example utilizes APA 6th edition.  Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of articles you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

Coney, R. (2019, November 15). Who wants pay related to performance? Not the staff at the RSPCAThird Sector. Retrieved from Factiva database

Euromonitor International. (2017). Hot drinks global industry overview. Retrieved from Passport database

Euromonitor International. (2017). Market sizes-historic-retail value RSP-BRL mn-current prices-Brazil. [Coffee]. Retrieved November 13, 2017, from Passport database

Global Road Warrior. (2017). Japan: The business experience. Retrieved from Global Road Warrior database

Hurst, G. and Kinder, T. (2018, August 22). Charity watchdog rebukes RSPCA after six-figure payout to chief. The Times (London). Retrieved from Gale Academic OneFile database 

Monetate. (2016). Brand value of leading 100 Chinese brands in 2016, by category. [Chart illustration bar chart]. Retrieved from Statista database

Rodriquez, S. (2017, October 26). Cloud computing drives massive growth for big U.S. tech firms. Reuters India. Retrieved from Factiva database

Statista, Inc. (2018). eCommerce in the United States. Retrieved from Statista database