Marketing Research Guide

Identifies major resources in the marketing and advertising fields with a focus on the United States, although some international sources are included.

Description: BA 6067 Research Guide

You will be doing a Customer Engagement Audit which requires you to find background information on your company and its competition and/or industry. Then you will consider broad economic, legal, environmental and political trends as they affect your business. You will also need to find research on consumers (Millennials and GenZ) and consider the role of digital marketing. This research guide will direct you toward potential sources to ensure success.  For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Company and Industry Resources

Broad Trend Resources

Consumer Research Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Using Library Search to Find Business Articles

Learn how to find articles in Library Search with this tutorial
https://smu.libwizard.com/library-search

Demographic and Consumer Research

This one-hour, hands on workshop focuses on resources that provide demographic and psychograpic data.

Need a different time? If you have a group of 5 or more, we can add a session for you. Send your request to Ask a Business Librarian.

Sample APA Citations

This example utilizes APA 6th edition.  Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of articles you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

Barber, N., & Jacobs, I. (2018, March 2). Personalized video creates better customer service experiences. Retrieved from Forrester Research database

Bryant, C. (2017, August). Coffee and tea on premise-US-August 2017. Retrieved from Mintel database

Euromonitor International. (2017). Hot drinks global industry overview. Retrieved from Passport database

First Research. (2018). Wireless Telecommunications Services. [Industry profile]. Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database

FTSE Russell. (2018). Verizon Communications, Inc. [Competitors list]. Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database 

IHS Markit. (2019) Executive Summary - United States. [Country Risk]. Retrieved October 24, 2019, from Connect database.

Pew Research Center. (2019, October 7). In their own words: Behind Americans' views of 'Socialism' and 'Capitalism'. Retrieved from pewresearch.org

PrivCo Media, LLC. (2018). Mary Kay profile and business model. Retrieved from PrivCo database.

Rodriguez, S. (2017, October 26). Cloud computing drives massive growth for big U.S. tech firms. Reuters India. Retrieved from Factiva database

Waters, R. (2017, July 10). Google seeks to make artificial intelligence more people‐friendly.  FT.com. Retrieved from ABI/Inform database

Yoon, E. (2017, August 8). Tesla shows how traditional business metrics are outdated. Harvard Business Review. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database