Lifestyle Reports (psychographics) focus on consumer behavior. Select the Demographics tab, then click Lifestyles. Browse or search topics. Mintel also contains business-to-consumer market research reports focused on consumer packaged goods.
Each time the database opens users must accept the usage policy. Please use your SMU email when setting up a profile on Mintel. (Users will be prompted to log in both on campus and off campus.) Duo Mobile authentication may be required. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Search your topic or product for specific marketing and advertising information. Consider including the Journal of Marketing and other scholarly and trade magazines in your Source Types (found on the left side of search results).
Search for marketing or advertising information. Refine your results by selecting Source Types = trade journals (industry focused) and/or scholarly journals (academic) and sort by newest date using the left side filters menus. Consider the advanced search option to build more complex or highly focused searches, such as a company name, NAICS codes, dates, publication types, and more all in a single search. ABI/Inform includes a variety of business publications, such as the Journal of Consumer Marketing .
Tip: database includes a citation option for adding items to your reference list.
Statista offers access to consumer and product marketing data, infographics, downloadable reports and conversion rate data.
Use the search box, scroll down for preset searches or select: Global Survey to access marketing & social media content within the Industries and topics area or look at international brands. Expert Tools for Statista's Consumer Market Outlook (offers key performance indicators of the 18 most important consumer markets with over 200 product categories across international markets.) or the Digital Market Outlook provides forecasts about individual market trends.
Access the Nielsen PRIZM database to obtain community profiles for a selected county, city, or zip code area. Click on the demographics icon (near bottom), then focus your search criteria. The Prizm Household Distribution Reports are available as PDFs or spreadsheet downloads for the two most recent prior years. It may help to review the linked Prizm segmentation definitions to gain further insights into the criteria used to define lifestyles by age, incomes, and locations.
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page. Complete a tutorial to learn how to use this database
Forrester shares up-to-date marketing statistics, as well as graphs and charts relevant to the IT industry and those who use technology within the realms of B2B, B2C, customer experience, and social media.
How to Search: Upon login (click the more link below to set up your own account), mouse over the My Forrester tab to access latest research reports or Forrester Waves. Use the left side navigation to select to content filters or use keyword search (or advanced search) options to focus your results. Playbooks offer pre-selected topics which include research, analysis, and metrics.
To create a Forrester account, click the Login button, or visit go.forrester.com. On the home page, click the Login link in the top-right. Then, enter your SMU e-mail in the e-mail address field. Your address will be detected and added to the SMU license once you complete the sign-up process. Duo Mobile authentication may be required.
Consumer behavior and marketing research articles. Do a search for "psychographic" and review and choose predictive text, if applicable. Can add a second keyword (in second search box) to focus search results. .
Provides one simple search interface for a wide range of library resources. It searches through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.
Shows the actual use of various marketing methods broken down by industry - based on annual membership survey. Shares each marketing method's response rate, conversion rate, revenue and cost. Includes notes on objective of the contact - whether for direct order, lead generation, traffic building or fundraising.
Note: 2018 edition is on Reserve in the Business Library. Publisher (ANA, formerly DMA) has not published a newer edition.
Note (May 5, 2021): ANA is collecting data to publish a new edition ANA Data & Analytics Response Rate Report.