Organizational Behavior Research Guide

Resources for research on organizational behavior.

Organizational Behavior Reading List

A PDF containing the list of recommended readings for Organizational Behavior topics by Professor Don Vandewalle.

E-books

Alive at Work
Triggers
Leading Change
The GE Work-Out
Change Anything
The Culture Map
The Corporate Culture Survival Guide
Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture
Decisive
Handbook of Leadership Development
The New Leader's 100-Day Action Plan
Leadership and Self-Deception
The Leadership Challenge
Mindset
Bringing Out the Best in People
Effective Meetings

Print Books

Deep Work
Simply Brilliant
Leading Change
Switch
The Catalyst
Influencer
Primed to Perform
Organizational Culture and Leadership
The Culture Cycle
Judgment
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Decisive
What Got You Here Won't Get You There
Handbook of Leadership Development
The First 90 Days
Crucial Conversations
Becoming the Evidence-Based Manager
Work Motivation
Intrinsic Motivation at Work
Mindset
The Set-up-to-Fail Syndrome
Successful Onboarding
The Modern Firm
Organizational Design
Designing Your Organization
Bringing Out the Best in People
Safe by Accident?
The Power of Habit
Smarter Faster Better
Senior Leadership Teams
Running Virtual Meetings (HBR 20-Minute Manager Series)
Virtual Team Success
The Sense of Style

More Resources

Mindfulness and Meditation

As a counterforce to multitasking, technology overload, and stress, the concepts of mindfulness and meditation have emerged as powerful techniques to support focus, relaxation, and stress reduction; the following links provide introductory overviews of these topics with a non-secular format.

http://www.wired.com/2013/06/meditation-mindfulness-silicon-valley/

https://hbr.org/2015/12/how-meditation-benefits-ceos

http://www.forbes.com/sites/insead/2014/01/28/how-meditation-can-make-you-a-better-leader/

http://aboutmeditation.com/practicing-mindfulness-is-a-must-for-business-leaders/

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/03/01/business/at-aetna-a-ceos-management-by-mantra.html

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password (or your last name and 14-digit SMU ID barcode number). Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Additional Resources

Cutting Edge Mind-Body Medicine Using Breathing

Great Sites for Management Videos and Resources

ADI (Aubrey Daniels International)

Vital Smarts (Includes the All Washed Up video on hand washing)

Dan and Chip Heath (Made to Stick) Also visit http://www.fastcompany.com/madetostick

Harvard Business Review (Excellent collection of articles and videos. See the left column for media options)

Marshall Goldsmith Library (Marshall is amazing as to his content sharing)

Mindset (Carol Dweck’s webpage for Growth Mindset content)

strategy+business  (A cutting edge magazine produced by PwC)

Greater Good in Action (Research-based methods for a happier, more meaningful life hosted by UC Berkeley)

NeuroLeadership Institute Videos (The NeuroLeadership Institute is a leading global research organization and the pioneer of bringing neuroscience to leadership)