Organizational Behavior Research Guide

Resources for research on organizational behavior.

Description: MNO 4361 Research Guide

Your midterm and final comprise a Case Study Analysis to demonstrate and apply key learnings. At the outset you will be required to find authoritative research concerning your company. It is not adequate to rely on only the company website and the provided podcasts. A basic Google search is not the best method to find appropriate sources for this background information. This research guide will direct you toward better search methods to ensure success.  For additional information, Ask a Business Librarian.

Company Resources

Company websites

Navigate to a company website then locate internal information under About or Corporate Information. Find mission statements, diversity commitments, and corporate culture. Also check out news/press releases and information for shareholders.
Be aware that all information is from the company’s point of view.

Article Resources

Database Access

Restricted database - current students, staff and faculty

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff. Certificate students and alumni do not have permission to use these resources.

EZ database - off campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password. Access these databases - anytime, anywhere.

In Business Library only database

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers and are not accessible via wireless connections. A valid SMU ID should be presented to receive a placard that must be displayed while using the computer.

Company Research

This one-hour, hands on workshop focuses on effective and efficient use of the resources you will need to successfully complete your research.

Need a different time? If you have a group of 5 or more, we can add a session for you. Send your request to Ask a Business Librarian.

Using Library Search to Find Business Articles

Learn how to find articles in Library Search with this tutorial
https://smu.libwizard.com/library-search

Sample APA Citations

These examples are based on APA 7th edition, but have been modified to meet the requirements of SMU Cox School of Business instructors. Check with your professor regarding the appropriate citation style for your course.

The following is an example of references on a reference page for the type of articles you will be using for this assignment. Examples of in-text references can be found in the Citation Help Research Guide.

References

American Airlines Group, Inc. (2020). American Airlines Group, Inc. [Corporate structure]. Retrieved from http://www.aa.com 

FTSE Russell. (2020). Verizon Communications, Inc. [Competitors list]. Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database 

Gale Group. (2020). PepsiCo, Inc. International Directory of Company Histories. Retrieved from Business Insights: Global database 

Hoopfer E. (2020, April 15). Come and take it? Not so fast. Dallas Business Journal. Retrieved from www.bizjournals.com 

MarketLine. (2020). Alphabet Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

Robuck, M. (2020, January 31). Amazon Web Services: A knockout performance in Q4. Fierce Telecom. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database