CoStar contains commercial real estate transactions involving a subscriber. The database of properties is updated monthly. Our subscription includes the following: CompsWeb, Costar CPD, CoStar Go, CoStar Market Analytics, For Sale Professional, LeaseAnalysis, LeaseComps, Property Professional, and TenantWeb. This database cannot be used for professional or internship purposes.
Available from a limited number of dedicated computers in the Business Library. Students may encounter wait times due to database login delays.
SNL Financial: Use the menu at the top to select data by markets & deals or by industries. Our subscription includes banking, financial services, insurance and commercial and residential mortgage data.
Note: New users must first register via the New User sign up dropdown. Choose Market Intelligence New User Sign Up and enter your SMU e-mail address to start the registration process. Not accessible on mobile devices and must use Chrome to access. If you are an existing S&P Capital IQ user, you may need to first log into Cap IQ and then use the Market Intelligence Platform link in the upper-right corner to access SNL.
This database covers the industry in some detail. Advanced search allows search by SIC and NAICS codes which allows easy narrowing of the search. The industry overview includes both national and international information.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Click on "Construction and Housing" for data on construction industry and projects. Search for "real estate" in the search area to get results focusing on real estate information.
“PERE provides the complete private real estate news & intelligence service. We cover the key players, firms, private real estate investments and deals globally. We examine the relationship between private real estate investors & private real estate fund managers. Keep your finger on the pulse of who and what is driving private real estate globally.”
Provides one simple search interface for a wide range of library resources. It searches through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.
Real Estate Lore by Harris OminskyA unique mix of wit, wisdom, and practice tips on real estate law from a veteran lawyer, Real Estate Lore is filled with invaluable, practice-focused advice on a range of subjects, including mortgages, landlord-tenant law, buying and selling real estate, brokerage law, and land use and title issues. As the author explains, his book raises some ironies, plays some intellectual games, pokes fun at the conventional wisdom, and may even provide a few chuckles about the light side of real estate law.
Call Number: KF570 .O475 2005
Publication Date: 2007-02-15
Real Estate Investing from A to Z by William H. PivarInvestors rocked by today's stock market woes are increasingly turning to real estate. Real Estate Investing from A to Z has become recognized in previous editions for explaining this potentially lucrative field in no-nonsense, easy-to-understand terms, while at the same time providing detailed information suitable for more seasoned investors. Substantially revised and updated chapters include discussions of REITs, risk reduction, the investment potential of single-family homes, group investments and joint ownership, and more.